Vitamin B12 injections

Months ago I investigated Vitamin B12 injections, after re-reading Dr Myhill’s rationale for using Vitamin B12 injections. I’d broached the topic with my doctor ages ago and he said I wasn’t deficient in Vitamin B so I didn’t pursue it back then. After seeing another doctor just to get a second opinion on my treatment, she didn’t want to take me on as a patient but said she would give me the injections if my regular doctor wouldn’t. When I rang her office later to make an appointment, they said I would have to make an appointment for a prescription for the injections, then go to the chemist to buy the the Vitamin B12 vials, then come back for another appointment for the injection. Sounded like more energy expenditure than it was worth, so again I left it for a while.

Then I read that I could buy the Vitamin B 12 injections without a prescription so I asked for them during my next visit to the chemist. The pharmacist was very nice and asked “are you injecting them yourself?”. I said I’m not planning to…but then he said it was easy and explained how to do it so I purchased some needles and a needle disposal container and away I went.

The first attempt was laughable. I have fainted during blood tests before and thought I was squeamish, so my partner volunteered to jab me in the bottom cheek.  I offered it up, ready for the jab. Waiting, waiting…(and that is the worse part)…but nothing. He couldn’t do it! “I didn’t want to hurt you!”.

Taking the needle myself, I found a little fold of fat near my belly button and slid the needle in. No pain, no fainting. It stung a tiny bit after I withdrew the needle and thats all.  Hurray! There are lots of guides online about giving yourself injections so perhaps read those if you need some confidence.

Now I wasn’t immediately bouncing off the walls after the first Vitamin B12 injection, disappointingly, but one thing I did notice immediately was I felt warmer. I usually have really cold hands and feet but the Vitamin B 12 injections helped a lot with that symptom.

I inject 0.5ml (half a vial) two to five times a week and it has made a small difference. I’m much less squeamish about giving myself injections but some days I don’t feel like jabbing myself, or getting to the chemist.

Dr Myhill suggests trying for two months then assessing so that is what I’m doing today! Overall, it wasn’t the difference I was hoping for but it is enough of a difference for me to persist with the treatment.

There are three vials in a box and they are about $12 a box, plus the cost of needles and the disposal container (roughly $1 per injection).

Do you give yourself injections or get Vitamin B12 injected?

lovely old drawing of needle from 1890's medical textbook

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Advice, Treatments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

