Colonic hydrotherapy for constipation with ME

tap from plumbing catalogue in 1893

You might not want to read this, I’m not sure I even wanted to write this! Please don’t write me off as a nutbag for even mentioning it.

Firstly, there is no scientific evidence for colonic hydrotherapy. (Not that scientific evidence has done much for treating ME so far!). A friend had raved it about and it seems to be on the to-do list of every holistic retreat I’ve looked at.

I had been uncomfortably bloated and constipated for more than a week. Large doses of vitamin C helped a little, I was already drinking plenty of water and eating fresh fruit and vegetables and laxatives gave me awful cramps. I was also afraid of taking any more painkillers while I was already so constipated as codeine make its worse.

So I gave colonic hydrotherapy, or colonic irrigation, a go. I chose a place that a friend recommended and it was very clean. The staff were reassuring and thorough in explaining how to use the equipment, a Libbe brand ‘open’ system, which means there is a clear tube so you can see the waste matter. I was left alone and in charge of the water flow, which was a gentle gravity-pressure flow. I’d read in some places they stay and massage your stomach, which I did not want!

It wasn’t uncomfortable and I did get rid of a lot of waste. I felt fine immediately after, plus they gave me an electrolyte drink and probiotic and let me sit in the lounge for a little while and rest.

When I got home I was wiped-out tired and went straight to sleep. I was also tired for the following two days but my abdomen was much more comfortable.

I would rather not have had one, but it helped with the constipation and in the week following my bowels have been fine. I wouldn’t recommend it ‘just because’, as there are risks associated with it.

Have you tried it? Or thought about it? What do you think?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Advice, Treatments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Colonic hydrotherapy for constipation with ME

  1. Great post! I had a very similar experience when I tried colonic hydrotherapy a couple of years ago. I too had gotten pretty desperate with how bloated, constipated and uncomfortable I was. The treatment helped my abdomen but left exhausted and wiped out with ME symptoms for a week nearly. It’s so frustrating that with ME it’s always about weighing up the consequences against the benefits.

Leave a Reply

