Tracking your symptoms with apps or on paper?

Do you track your symptoms and activity? I used to but fell out of the habit once I stopped improving and started sliding backwards in my recovery because it was, quite frankly, dispiriting to see I wasn’t doing as well as I had been. It is much more fun to enter in activities when you can see you are doing better week by week.

So that is why I stopped. But it is time for me to start again, at least to provide evidence to the doctor, if not keep myself accountable and make sure I’m resting enough.

I used to use Bruce Campbell’s activity log  printed out and personalised a little. I’d sit down in the afternoon and fill it out, then cart it along to every GP visit.

Recently I made an appointment with Griffith University’s National Centre for Neuroimmunology and Emerging Diseases. They have released their own free app, CliniHelp, which I downloaded and had a look at. There are 35 questions to be completed each week on physical and emotional health, medications, visits to health professionals and supplements (and why they ask me my height weekly is beyond me!). The Nutritional survey asks you where, what time, and what you had for breakfast, morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. And I didn’t even get to the monthly survey. It all seemed to long and repetitive to me, so I gave up.

I have downloaded and enjoyed using the Sleep Cycle app to track the duration and quality of my sleep, along with resting heart rate in the morning. Taking my morning heart rate is an important measure for me and I kept that up, but I like how Sleep Cycle takes it for me. The app was about $3, is quick and easy to use, I have the ability to add in factors during the day that might affect my sleep (like an outing or yoga session) and gives me lots of satisfying statistics.

I’ve asked around about other apps and two which have been recommended are Pain Tracker and My Pain Diary. I haven’t tried these but considering it.

Another one I’m considering is ME Diary, which has two reviews in the App store – one terrible and one great – so I’m still weighing it up.

Do you track your symptoms, activities or progress? How do you do it?  Any tips?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Advice, Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tracking your symptoms with apps or on paper?

  1. Claire says:

    Buuuuh, reading this post made me realise that I have to start filling in my diary again! It helps me manage so well, and helps start my evening routine and makes sure I don’t get too upset when I’m really tired because usually I can just flip back a few days and see where I went wrong. It’s all sorts of amazing, and it doesn’t take too long… and I just can’t be bothered.
    But I should be.
    I’ll start tomorrow.
    xx

  2. I know what you mean! Did you start filling in your diary again?
    I haven’t yet…
    x

Leave a Reply

