Kinesiology

Yesterday I had a kinesiology session for the first time.

I tried it, in part because I was offered a free session from someone in training and in part because I’m keen to try anything that might help my myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME).

I’m sure there are much better explanations of kinesiology around, but simply put, it is about checking for energy blockages around the body and trying to open up the flow of energy which can lessen symptoms of fatigue. It does encompass the physical, emotional and mental so be prepared for that, if you do try it.

I didn’t have high hopes, as I read that beginner kinesiology practitioners only have about a 20 per cent success rate, while more experienced practitioners have a 90 per cent success rate.

One of the reasons I was curious is that kinesiology uses muscle testing and was vaguely related to the muscle testing they did for people with viruses in the polio family and doctors have suspected the virus that starts ME is one in the polio family, an enterovirus.

Anyway, I hope I haven’t lost you with my mental meanderings.  Back to the session.

I answered some questions and the practitioner asked me to check my response to pressure on different parts of my body (mainly arms and legs), then where she found blockages she performed ‘uncomfortable/comfortable’ rubbing pressure (mostly on my back).  I was a bit of a challenge for her, being fairly weak, easily tired and requiring much less pressure than her other clients.

It took a long time, more than an hour, so I was pretty tired by the end of the session – more tired than when I began. I was really worn out last night, as expected after that kind of excursion, but I feel comparatively ok today. Usually I’d expect to feel more wiped out.

Overall, I’m happy to help a friend with training but kinesiology doesn’t seem like something I’d pick out and pay for. I think money would be better spent on massage for me.

There are a couple of different types of kinesiology so if I try another I’ll report back.

Have you tried kinesiology?  Or thought about it?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kinesiology

  1. Megan says:

    It was great to see you writing about the polio-ME link; not many people know about this & I think it helps people understand ME better. I haven’t tried kinesiology but I was interested to hear your experience. I’ve been recommended Bowen therapy which I think is kind of similar…

  2. Thanks Megan!
    I think Bowen therapy is slightly more reputable than kinesiology. I know a little about it but hadn’t considered it.

Leave a Reply

