Myalgic encephalomyelitis and going to the hairdresser

Going anywhere with myalgic encephalomyelitis is a challenge but going to the hairdresser seems to be a big challenge for me. When I first improved a little, I thought getting my hair cut was a good idea, ‘looking better, feeling better’ notion and all. Oh gee. I was wiped out and my head and neck hurt for days afterwards. So I gave that idea up for a while.

1957, Dorian Stripling getting his first haircut in Tallahassee, Florida. Although his expression sums up how I feel about getting my hair cut.

1957, Dorian Stripling getting his first haircut in Tallahassee, Florida. Although his expression sums up how I feel about getting my hair cut.

Before I became ill, I wouldn’t mind spending a few hours in a beautiful salon. Reading glossy magazines, drinking coffee or sparkling wine, chatting to the hairdresser while I had colours painted on, sitting in the massage chair having my hair washed, paying lots of money for my hair style and colour.

Things have changed. I can’t handle being in the hairdressers for that many hours; the noises, the smells, moving from chair to chair to chair…

So for the last year and a half I have cut my own hair. It is curly, so it doesn’t matter that it wasn’t quite straight. I made adjustments with the scissors when it was showing.

It was the grey hairs that finally got to me. I’m in my 30’s, so it is understandable I have some, but since becoming ill with post viral chronic fatigue syndrome and fibromyalgia, I have become really grey. With 18 months of grey regrowth and the rough curly haircut, I was resembling the cat lady from the Simpsons.

This haircut was much easier. Instead of a busy salon where you get passed from person to person, I went to a tiny salon with just one hairdresser who does the colouring, washing, cutting and taking payment, so I was never sitting waiting (except when the colour was on). She knows I’m unwell so it gentle with me, no vigorous scalp massages. I had a demi-permanent colour so the chemicals aren’t too harsh and it fades gradually so it is less noticable and I won’t have to go back too soon. She was also kind enough not to say anything about my home haircutting skills!

The upshot is that you shouldn’t need go to the hairdresser, I’m sure you are quite beautiful as you are. It was just my grey half-head which I couldn’t stand.

If you do need to, find a tiny salon or someone who works from home perhaps. Explain your sensitivities, if they are noise, light, chemical or just that you can’t sit still for too long or need to put your feet up. Make sure that you look after yourself, that you have had enough rest, food and water to feel your best while you are in there.

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Advice, Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Myalgic encephalomyelitis and going to the hairdresser

  1. I love being in the salon and I really only get a wash, cut and my eyebrows done but getting my butt out of the house to go is my problem. I’ve needed a trim for weeks and I keep putting it off. My hair dresser will take me first thing in the morning which is my best time but finding the motivation to go is so hard!

  2. I read this the other week and am planning to try it, as I have a few grays and would like to see them retreat — I have no idea if it will work or not:

    Coconut Oil & Lemon
    Mix coconut oil and a dash of lemon and massage you head with the mixture daily, for about 15 minutes. The recipe is known to be very beneficial for treating grey hair and also gives long term benefits in terms of texture, strength as well as length of hair. There are instances of people having black hairs even up to the age of 60-70 years by using this method.

    https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=168177381400

  3. Mario says:

    Hi, I have a quick question about life with CFS. If you could, email me when you see this comment. Thanks in advance.

    Mario

Leave a Reply

