The blessed relief of heatpacks

It’s December and we are enjoying summer here in Australia but it has been a little cool lately. Not warm enough to put away my beloved heat packs.

When I get cold, I get stiff and sore. My shoulders, neck, back and feet get the coldest. Also, when I sit in the same position for too long I get stiff and sore. I spent 45 minutes wrapping presents; rolling out large swathes of wrapping paper, holding with one hand and reaching around for the sticky-tape with the other. This made me really sore as well. It seems ridiculous to me that wrapping presents should make me this sore.

I solve this with heatpacks, the kind you can pop in the microwave. I have three so I can have a long one across my shoulders, one with long strings (genius idea!) so I can tie it around myself so the heat pack sits on my lower back and a hot water bottle-shaped one for my perpetually cold feet.

I like how they have a little bit of weight to them so they don’t move around or slip off, without being annoyingly heavy.

They are also mandatory for when I have PMT. I have really painful periods and the heat packs really help. Once I desperately needed one and could find them, so I put dried lentils, split peas and barley (soup mix) into a pillowcase, tied a knot it and microwaved my improvised heat pack. Worked well!

So if you have chronic fatigue syndrome or ME and don’t already have a few, put them on your Christmas wishlist. Maybe if you are clever and crafty you can make your own and design a shape to suit you. I think I’d quite like a big, flat U-shaped one that comes around and ends on my chest.

How about you? How many do you already have and do you use them year round?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Advice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

