So, what have you been up to?

“Ummmm…the postman delivered a parcel from the chemist…I stayed in my pyjamas until 6pm, then had a bath and put on another pair of pyjamas…I struggled to make myself lunch today and that’s about it.”

I usually feel stuck when someone asks me what I’ve been doing or what I’ve been up to. What do you say? My days are so mundane. Getting dressed is an effort, cooking for myself is an effort, getting a little work done at home is an effort and if I manage all three it is a good day. I feel like I have such a boring life. Feeling tired and sore doesn’t make for an exciting life. Sometimes the highlight of the day is when the postman delivers something, even if it is from the chemist.

I’m pleased to say I’m recovering from myalgic encephalomyelitis but it is bloody slow. Month by month there isn’t much to report. I have a good week, sometimes I have a bad week. In the good weeks I’m not doing very much and in the bad weeks, nothing at all. Well, that’s not true, I do spent a fair bit of time on dogshaming. So funny.

I could tell them about something I saw on TV, I can’t remember the name of the movie and am foggy on the details but I’m pretty sure I saw a movie. Stupid brain fog.

I’m in my 30’s, so it isn’t like my friends are all out at nightclubs anymore but they travel to interesting places, they work on interesting things, do things with their children and generally have interesting things to report. So it’s probably best I let them do the talking.

How about you?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So, what have you been up to?

  1. Megan S says:

    I know exactly how you feel! The only other thing (other than tv) I have to talk about is my blog and people aren’t that interested because they’ve either read it already or aren’t interested at all.

    • I’ve been shy about my blog and haven’t talked to my friends about it, my partner knows about it but hasn’t read it. I feel like if I talk about my health and the things that have changed, I mostly get pitying smiles in person, but here people reading it know what I’m talking about and we can celebrate and commiserate and get stronger together.

Leave a Reply

