Bad periods

I mark my calendar with the warning “take it easy” the day before my period is due. Otherwise I might do something silly, like plan to do something.

The day or two before I get my period are bad and it only gets worse. The only excursion to undertake is to the pharmacy for codeine and ibuprofen (or whatever works for you).

The first few days are the worst, I’m in so much pain I can’t leave the house, work from home or do anything anyone could call useful. There is no ‘pacing’ to be done, I’m just wiped out. The best thing to do is to drug up and watch something distracting on TV. This is what you save the best/worst TV for. Or if my noise sensitivity is bad, I read a frothy chick-lit romance novel, preferably set in Ireland for some reason! I don’t eat wheat or dairy any more, so no more chocolate biscuit binge eating, but I do make sure there is dark chocolate near by.

With myalgic encephalomyelitis, PMS bloating is especially bad. That is just plain unfair, especially since I eat so well and don’t drink alcohol or caffeine. Unfair!

There are yoga poses that are meant to help with period pain and  bow pose helps a little but usually I’m in so much pain I’m just lying on my side curled up. Doing more yoga the rest of the time helps though. And breathing helps with all sorts of pain of course. So many things suck about myalgic encephalomyelitis, this is one of the worst.

Aside from painkillers, heat packs help me the most. I have one that is the width of my body and is reasonably heavy for the size it is, and the heat combined with the slight pressure on my lower abdomen seems to help. Or the hot water bottle.

Every month I forget how painful it is and how it leaves me wrecked. That’s why I resorted to putting a reminder in my calendar.  How about you, how do you cope?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bad periods

  1. Megan S says:

    I’ve been put on the Depo Provera shot because not only does my ME/cfs pain increase but the Pelvic Congestion Syndrome flares as well making my life misery. So right now I haven’t had a period in about 3 months due to pill changes and then the shot but when I did get periods I coped the same way as you, just add an almost continuously filled pot of peppermint tea 🙂

  2. Megan says:

    Wow everything in this article describes what I go through perfectly! It sucks being a woman sometimes …

  3. Pingback: The blessed relief of heatpacks | someone's idea of luxury

Leave a Reply

