Juicy

I accidentally ordered two deliveries of fruit and vegetables this week, oops, but I have plans for it all!

In the box that came today there were organic oranges, apples, beetroot and carrots. I’ll add in some ginger and might try a few cucumbers as well this time. Another box will be delivered in the morning and we’ll see what arrives in that one!

A friend recommended a juice that her naturopath had suggested for her chronic fatigue syndrome symptoms and it is pretty good:

  • Apples
  • Oranges
  • Beetroot
  • Celery
  • Carrots
  • Ginger

I like that blend, with lots of celery and not too many apples so I don’t get a ‘sugar crash’ later, or I use pears instead. I make a batch while I have the juicer out and put some in glass jars in the fridge for the next few days. I know the fresher the juice the better it is for you but too much effort for me. Ginger is delicious in the fresh ones but I add less ginger in the blends I’m keeping in the fridge.

Strawberries are delicious but they are better just eaten I reckon, same with berries and stone fruit like peaches and apricots. Pineapple is great in the juicer but this far south in Australia we don’t seem to get great pineapple.

The worst part is cleaning up afterwards, especially if there has been a malfunction at some stage. Why does that always happen with the beetroot!?

Do you have a favourite juice recipe? Or kitchen disaster story that will make me feel better about cleaning beetroot off the window and walls?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Advice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Juicy

  1. Megan S says:

    I don’t necessarily have a favourite juice, but ginger is great!

  2. Yes, delicious and good for us!

  3. I use just beets, carrots and ginger, occasionally celery — it doesn’t need the fruit at all as the beets and carrots are sweet, and I love ginger so the more, the better! This is a great detox juice for me, it helps the liver and is great bang-for-the-buck from a health and wallet perspective!

Leave a Reply

