Bedbound. What would you invent?

Glasses especially designed for reading in bed.

Glasses especially designed for reading in bed.

Ok, this post is a little frivolous but we could all use a little frivolity now and then!

I found this great picture of a model demonstrating reading glasses that you can wear lying down – they must have mirrors in them that reflect the image down. I had a chuckle at this and then thought this would actually be quite handy. It does take effort to hold my head up but I do love reading.

Fortunately I’m stronger now, but for a while I found it difficult to sit propped up in bed and my arms were too tired to hold a book (so this device wouldn’t have worked for me then), even lying sideways. Instead of reading books, I would listen to audiobooks and podcasts of short stories.

Do you have a Kindle or an e-reader? Is it lighter and easier than a book? I’ve thought about it but seems too expensive for me at the moment, so I borrow paper ones from the library.

What do you think of this invention? What would you invent? Or have you invented something cool?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
Image | This entry was posted in Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bedbound. What would you invent?

  1. Megan S says:

    I mainly listen to audio books at the moment because just can’t focus my eyes on the book and my arms get too sore holding it. But I do have an e-reader and they’re definitely easier, especially when traveling.

Leave a Reply

