Put your feet up

How much better do you feel when you put your feet up?

I always feel better with my feet up and my favourite part of yoga class is viparita karani, or legs up the wall. They don’t always need to be higher than my head, just out in front of me is enough.  I’m ok sitting up, as long as my back and preferably my head are supported but all my favourite spots around the house are where I can sit, or lie, with my feet up. I’m most comfortable with a small cushion, bolster or rolled up towel underneath my knees but most of the time that seems like too much work to organise for myself. It sucks being an invalid.

I’ve read that putting my feet up helps because my blood volume is low due to the ME. Dr Sarah Myhill writes about low cardiac output and mitochondrial failure as the reason we feel so terrible and says our hearts don’t have to work so hard when we have our feet up.

I don’t have orthostatic intolerance, thankfully, but do have to get up slowly. Sometimes standing and leaning against something seems easier than sitting down briefly on an uncomfortable chair and the effort of standing up again.

When I sit up at the dining room table, I rest my feet on the empty chair opposite!  In the car, I put the passenger seat quite far back and reclined a fair way so I’m comfortable. If I have to wait in the car I rest my feet on the dashboard. I think I hate waiting at the doctors’ surgery because of the uncomfortable chairs (plus the noise and everyone else’s germs), although I did notice that the rheumatologist’s office has very comfortable chairs. I still wanted to lie down though.

Do you have any tricks or spots to put your feet up? How do you go sitting up?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Put your feet up

  1. I love putting my feet up! I know My knees are meant to stay below my hips most of the time when sitting, but there is nothing like getting an empty seat across from you on a long train or bus ride to put your feet up (oh, and in yoga class too of course!)

  2. Megan S says:

    I always feel better with my feet up. In normal chairs I end up sitting side on with my knees over the arm or with my knees pulled up to my chest. When I don’t I start feeling nauseous and lightheaded.

  3. Megan says:

    Wow. I never sit in a chair properly, even at the dinner table I pull my feet up onto the chair, never thought about why… very interesting. Thanks for posting 🙂

  4. Pingback: CFS and going to the hairdresser | someone's idea of luxury

Leave a Reply

