Vitamin C, vitamin E and antioxidants

I have read about antioxidants and the science is pretty unconvincing, in fact I think it shows that people who take antioxidants have a worse outcome than those who don’t, but I have found them helpful.

Disclaimer: I’m not a doctor or a scientist and the doctors I have consulted have a variety of views on the topic.

One said I should be getting all my vitamins and minerals from food so no supplementation was needed, another one said that since the recommended daily allowances (RDA) for vitamins and minerals were set post-war, they were about the minimum level (so you don’t get scurvy) not the optimum level and he recommended I take Vitamin E and others.

So I take 1000mg to 2000mg of Vitamin C a day and 250IU of Vitamin E. I noticed a slight improvement when I started taking the Vitamin C (and was taking about twice as much as I am now) and have scaled back on my doctor’s advice.  I take the chewable Vitamin C and my dentist said my teeth should be fine, as long as I don’t take them just before or just after brushing my teeth as it will weaken the enamel.

So I’m not telling you what to take or not take, but it is something I looked into and helped me a little, so it may be something you want to research for yourself. Have you already thought about this? What antioxidant supplements do you take?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Advice, Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vitamin C, vitamin E and antioxidants

  1. Pingback: Vitamin D or sunshine | someone's idea of luxury

  2. Pingback: Dry body brushing | someone's idea of luxury

Leave a Reply

