Yoga for ME

A few days ago I wrote about how meditation was one of the things which has helped me cope with pain and the awfulness of  myalgic encephalomyelitis.  The other big thing is yoga.

I loved yoga before I became ill. I had found a wonderful teacher and would always keep Wednesday evenings for yoga classes.  When I became so ill I couldn’t get out of bed, I missed yoga but did some of the breathing I had learnt in class.

When I was well enough to get out of bed, I rolled out my yoga mat in the sun outside and  lay out there and breathed. Over time, I worked up to gentle postures just for a few minutes and it felt so good. Good for my mind as well as my body.

The more often I do yoga, the better I feel and the more I want to do, so I aim for a few minutes a couple of times a day. On warmer days it is easier but on colder days it is more rewarding. On rough days just viparita karani, or legs-up-the-wall (or legs up the bedhead) is sometimes all I can manage.

It has been interesting to learn more about the poses and what they do for your body, I believe that if I practise with intent and think about what the pose is doing for my body then it has more effect than just going through the motions.

I prefer to practise yoga outside, so I bought an app that has a library of postures, ready-made sessions and lets me create my own programs and store them in the library. I’ll tell you more about them another time, meanwhile I’d like to hear about what you can do and what makes you feel better.

For now, I’m going to roll out my mat.

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Feel good, Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yoga for ME

  1. Pingback: Massage – a luxury or a necessity? | someone's idea of luxury

  2. Pingback: Keeping a calendar of your activities | someone's idea of luxury

  3. Pingback: The heat | someone's idea of luxury

  4. Yoga and meditation have helped me loads as well. And I absolutely love them both. Have you come across Fiona Agombar’s Yoga for Fatigue book and DVD? I used them a lot when my ME was worse, it really helped. There’s a link to a download of a class Fiona recorded on my Links page on my blog.

Leave a Reply

