Meditation to cope with pain

Meditation has been one of the things that has helped me cope with the pain, the frustration and the other emotions and challenges of chronic fatigue syndrome and fibromyalgia. It is one of the few things that I can do for myself which makes me feel better. The other big one is yoga, I love yoga. Other people have found feldenkrais or tai chi useful too.

Meditation can make me feel more rested than if I’d had a sleep. It can get me in the right mindset for going to sleep if I need to. I like to meditate after yoga. I especially like to meditate outside. Find a shady spot to lie my head, roll out a mat, take a pillow and sometimes a blanket and enjoy it.  That is all you need to do: getting warm and comfortable in a position you can lie in, breathe and relax.

I recommend reading a few of John Kabat-Zinn’s books, especially Full Catastrophe Living and Wherever You Go, There You Are. You don’t need to know a lot about it, just get into it. Kabat-Zinn has some guided meditations on CD in the back of the books and instructions in the books you can follow.

I like the guided meditations from Meditation Oasis, they are easy to upload to my smartphone. There are lots of guided meditations and relaxation sessions on the web, find one that suits you. Or just relaxation music, like sounds of the ocean or rainforest. They are good for the days I don’t want anyone talking to me while I meditate. When my mind is noisy, listening to chanting quietens it. Other times, I like quiet so I can listen to my own breath.

Less talking about it, more doing it. I’m shutting my laptop and going to do the ‘Morning Energy Guided Meditation’. How about you?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Books, Feel good, Life with myalgic encephalomyelitis, Podcasts, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meditation to cope with pain

  1. Pingback: Yoga for CFS/ME | someone's idea of luxury

  2. Pingback: Massage – a luxury or a necessity? | someone's idea of luxury

  3. Pingback: Set an intention for the day | someone's idea of luxury

  4. Pingback: Dry body brushing | someone's idea of luxury

Leave a Reply

