Kindnesses

Chicago : Illinois WPA Art Project, [between 1936 and 1940]

from the archives of the Library of Congress, Chicago : Illinois WPA Art Project, [between 1936 and 1940]

There are so many kind things people have done for me since I became ill. Even as time has gone on, they have been patient with me and I’m more grateful than I can say. These are a few of my favourites.

Sending me a ‘Friday funnies’ email every week.

Taking a day off work to pick me up and take me out for lunch.

Sending me books, tea and lovely drawings.

Introducing me to their friend or sister who has been through chronic fatigue syndrome, who have offered advice and support via email.

Sending me letters and postcards from the other side of the world.

Coming over to visit, bringing lunch, hanging out my washing, watering my plants and even ironing.

Understanding about cancelling at the last minute. Inviting me to do fun things, even though it might happen again.

Bringing me flowers.

Making me cups of tea and listening to me, even when they have their own full, challenging lives.

Looking up gluten-free and dairy-free recipes and cooking things I can eat. Really delicious things too.

Thank you my gorgeous friends, you are wonderful and I love you.

Will you share some of the kind things people have done for you?

About someonesideaofluxury

writing from home with my feet up
This entry was posted in Feel good and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

